Home > Programmes > Academic Curriculum > Mathematics

Mathematics


Name Affectionately known as
Designation Email
Mrs Lee Wen Lin Mrs LeeHead of Department
(Mathematics & Science)
lee_wen_lin_a@schools.gov.sg
Mr Andy Lam Kum Cheong
Mr Lam
Head of Department
(ICT & Mobile Web Application)
Teacher (Maths)
andy_lam_kum_cheong@schools.gov.sg
Ms Goh Jia LiMs GohYear Head
(Lower Sec)
Teacher (Maths)
goh_jia_li@schools.gov.sg
Mr Lim Kian Chuan
Mr Lim
Subject Head (ICT)
Teacher (Maths)
lim_kian_chuan@schools.gov.sg
Ms Liu Yunman
Ms Liu
Subject Head (Maths)
Teacher (Maths)
liu_yunman@schools.gov.sg
Mr Pu Siang Beng
Mr PuSenior Teacher
(
Educational Support & Maths)
pu_siang_beng@schools.gov.sg
Mr Lim Weiming Mr Lim Teacher (Maths) lim_weiming@schools.gov.sg
Ms Ho Su Ching Eunice Ms HoTeacher (Maths) ho_su_ching_eunice@schools.gov.sg
Ms Low Chui Ling Ms LowTeacher (Maths) low_chui_ling@schools.gov.sg
Mr Lee Joshua Mr JoshuaTeacher (Maths) lee_joshua@schools.gov.sg
Ms Ng Geok Ling Betina Ms NgTeacher (Maths) ng_geok_ling_betina@schools.gov.sg
Ms Tan Bee Kiaw Evelyn Ms TanTeacher (Maths) tan_bee_kiaw_evelyn@schools.gov.sg
Ms Rachel Tan Shi Ya Ms RachelTeacher (Maths)
rachel_tan_shi_ya@schools.gov.sg
Ms Ang Lijun Ms AngTeacher (Maths) ang_li_jun@schools.gov.sg

Ms Shuhadah Binte Suleiman

Ms Shuhadah

Teacher (Maths)shuhadah@schools.gov.sg 

Objective

The Mathematics Department pedagogical framework is designed to reboot, recondition and restore Crestans’ confidence for Mathematics through positive teacher-student relationship and effective teaching strategies. 

Curriculum

Apart from effective classroom learning activities, we structure hands-on activities into our Curriculum to allow our Crestans apply their mathematical concepts. We also do inter-departmental collaborations to let students learn about the world around them through Mathematics, and to promote the joy of learning in Crestans.

Secondary One (A Collaboration with Retail Services Department)

Math Popcorn.jpgThe Popcorn Making activity allows our Crestans to understand the importance of ratio, cost and profit, while showcasing their retail service skills to promote and sell their product.

Bubble Tea Making in Secondary Two (A Collaboration with Culinary and Restaurant Operations Department)

Math Bubble Tea.jpgDuring the Bubble Tea Making activity, our Crestans apply their knowledge about proportion and similar figures, while learning the importance of food handling and food hygiene skills during preparation.

Learning Journey to Gardens by the Bay in Secondary Two (A Collaboration with English Department)

Learning Journey to Garden by the Bay.JPGStudents make measurements and apply their mathematical concepts to see the world through the mathematical lens. For example, they measure the radii and circumference of circles, then compare the calculated circumference against the measured circumference.

Learning Journey to Singapore Zoo in Secondary Three (A Collaboration with English Department)

Math Learning JourneyToZoo.jpgStudents collect mathematical data and use them to explain worldly phenomenon. For example, they compare the rate at which Rhinoceros are going extinct by comparing the numbers of these animals poached over the years. 

At the end of the four year course, Crestans experience the fun in learning Math, and are equipped with the knowledge and skills for further Mathematical pursuits. They will also possess the necessary mathematical life-skills to make good decisions in life, in areas such as making sound financial choices and improved time management.